Panel to choose winner of $100,000 population health award

'All of the judges' careers are dedicated to improving health outcomes through policy and practice'
By Bernie Monegain
08:49 AM

Hearst Health, a division of Hearst Corporation, and the Jefferson College of Population Health of Thomas Jefferson University in Philadelphia have a panel of judges at work on selecting an organization or individual to receive a $100,000 cash award for outstanding achievement in the field of population health management.

Gregory Dorn, MD, president of Hearst Health, and David B. Nash, MD, dean of the Jefferson College of Population Health, who is one of the judges, announced the inaugural award recently and named the panel of judges reviewing the applications.

The nine healthcare leaders serving as judges for the 2015 Hearst Health Prize are:

  • Nancy-Ann DeParle
  • A. Mark Fendrick, MD
  • Tejal K. Gandhi, MD
  • H. Stephen Lieber
  • Mark McClellan, MD
  • David B. Nash, MD
  • Valinda Rutledge
  • James M. Schibanoff, MD
  • Mark D. Smith, MD

[See slideshow: Meet the 9 judges to award $100,000 Hearst Prize for population health.]

"It is an honor to partner with such a distinguished group of healthcare authorities," Dorn said, in a news release.  "All of the judges' careers are dedicated to improving health outcomes through policy and practice. It is their collective judgment that assures the Hearst Health Prize meaningfully contributes to this field's body of work."

"I look forward to collaborating with my fellow judges, learning about innovative programs across the country that are advancing population health and sharing these best practices," Nash said.

[See also: What exactly is 'population health,' anyway?]

The judges, in conjunction with faculty from the Jefferson College of Population Health, are evaluating the applications based on the following criteria:

  • Population health impact or outcome, demonstrated by measurable improvement
  • Use of evidence-based interventions and best practices to improve the quality of care
  • Scalability and sustainability
  • Promotion of engagement, collaboration and communication
  • Innovation

The finalists for this inaugural competition will be announced in January 2016. The winner will be announced on March 8, 2016 at the Population Health Colloquium in Philadelphia.

The next competition cycle will begin in Spring 2016.

Read the full  details about the Hearst Health Prize, including eligibility, submission criteria, application and competition rules here.